Chrigel wins 3rd consecutive PWC

Chrigel Maurer is the first pilot ever to win the Paragliding World Cup (PWC) three times in succession. Andy Aebi was third and thus secured a second podium place for ADVANCE in the Formula 1 of paraglider flying. The Greek pilot Slavomir Matras finished among the protos with this Omega7. Gold medal for the ADVANCE Team who finished 1st at the Teams ranking !

Both these ADVANCE competition team members and test pilots went to Argentina leading the ranking of the 2007 PWC. This year they have turned in consistently good performances and with 8 victories between them set out in a dominant postion.

Unfortunately the contest at Tucaman, Argentina, was not blessed by good weather, but even so it was possible to fly 4 valid tasks in which Chrigel was able to defend his lead and thus become the first pilot in history to win the PWC three times in a row.

The Berner Oberlander must surely have flown himself into a place in the history books with this spectacular new victory. This third PWC caps an incredible list of ADVANCE successes, which take us back to the inception of the HiArc concept over three years ago (for more about HiArc look under OMEGA 7).

Andy Aebi’s third place overall and his three wins this year confirm his status as a top ranking world competition pilot, and another ADVANCE team pilot, Stefan Schmocker, has established himself as a world contender this year. Stefan’s 11th place and a 22nd for Heli Eichholzer augers well for the future of our small ADVANCE competition team.

Slavomir “Slavec” Matras from Greece finally reached 52nd place with his stock Omega 7, achieving a place at the middle of the open class.

Last but not least : after 23 tasks, the small ADVANCE Team also won the gold medal in the Teams ranking, followed by Mac Para and Axis Para.

This entry was posted in International. Bookmark the permalink.